Latitude

I’m back from three nights at a fantastic festival in Southwold. I read a chapter from The Unblemished at midnight, Saturday, in front of around 250 people, easily my biggest ever audience, despite it being either inherited, or lying in wait for the circus performers at the end of the evening. I took along a box of London Revenant to give away and they all went quickly, so that was nice… one less thing to pack in the car. My boys enjoyed it too. Zac learned how to crawl while he was there. Highlights were Joanna Newsom, even if she did forget the words to one of her songs (it just made her even more cute), Interpol, and The Breeders, who I’ve liked since Pod (1990), and who were terrific, obviously a band at total ease with themselves and having a bunch of fun. Grinderman sounded great, although I heard them at distance, babysitting in the tent with Ethan and Ripley while Rhonda was checking out Blondie. It was such a laid back festival that, even after a six-hour drive back to Manchester and the discovery that I had not won the Shirley Jackson award for best novella (congratulations Lucius!), I was in an extremely good mood… Although it’s back to the new novel tomorrow. Expect happiness levels to plummet…

Leave a Reply

