Storm warning

She moved past me and headed up the beach in the direction of the pier. She hesitated and shot a look back at me. She was wearing that same slightly shocked, slightly quizzical expression. In a surprisingly clear, strong voice she said: ‘Come with me.’ And then, I don’t know if it was the wind that spoilt them or my own gloomy demeanour that twisted her words, but as she turned back into the teeth of the weather, I thought she said, I’m sure she said: You have death crawling all over you.

Leave a Reply

